21 NCAC 01.0102 REQUIREMENTS/WAIVER/QUALIFICATIONS/LICENSURE DETAILED IN G.S. 90-455

An applicant for licensing seeking a waiver of the requirements of Rule .0101 of this Section shall:

- (1) Submit a completed application before December 31, 1994, and
- (2) Submit non-refundable fees as required by Rule .0103 of this Section, and
- (3) Provide proof of North Carolina residency as of January 1, 1993, and
- (4) Fulfill one of the following:
 - (a) Submit a certified copy, certified by the issuing institution, of a transcript including evidence of graduation from an acupuncture college approved by the Board (an approved acupuncture college is one that is a minimum of two academic years of training and is certified or approved by the state or country in which it operates), or
 - (b) Submit evidence of successful completion of the Clean Needle Technique (CNT) course and achieve a score of not less than 15 points as outlined in the Sub-items (4)(b)(i) and (ii) of this Rule to satisfy requirements for a Board approved training program.
 - (i) Submit proof of a score of not less than 70% on the National Commission for the Certification of Acupuncturists examination: 15 points; or
 - (ii) Training: Accrue 15 points (a minimum of 5 points in both categories in Sub-items (4)(b)(ii)(A) and (B) of this Rule.
 - (A) Education:
 - (I) Structured For each 100 hours of documented completion of a formal training program approved by the Board: 1 point. A formal training program is an acupuncture college certified or approved by the state or country in which it operates.
 - (II) Apprenticeship For each 150 hours of supervised apprenticeship training with an acupuncturist [and which is verified by such acupuncturist(s)]: 1 point.
 - (B) Experience: An applicant must accrue a minimum of five points in any combination of Sub-items (4)(ii)(B)(I) and (II) of this Rule. Acupuncture must comprise at least 90% of the applicant's practice. Treatments for cessation of smoking and weight loss shall not be adequate to satisfy the experience requirements if such therapies comprise more than 40% of the applicant's practice.
 - (I) Treatment of not fewer than 100 different patients for not less than 2000 patient hours within the last three years prior to application for licensure: 5 points.
 - (II) Treatment of not fewer than 100 patients for not less than 4000 patient hours within the last three years prior to application for licensure: 10 points.
- (5) Submit all correspondence, including application, in writing, typed or printed only, to the North Carolina Acupuncture Licensing Board, P.O. Box 25171, Asheville, NC 28803.

History Note: Authority 90-454; 90-455; S.L. 1993, c. 303, s. 3; Filed as a Temporary Adoption Eff. March 18, 1994 for a Period of 180 Days or Until the Permanent Rule Becomes Effective, Whichever is Sooner; Eff. August 1, 1994; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. November 12, 2014.